Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need Facebook to create a Friender account?

No, you have two options when logging in. We use Facebook and Google+ to make sure you are matched with real people who share similar interests and common friends. Friender will never post anything to your Facebook or Google Plus without your consent.

Friender says “No new friends waiting.”

Go to settings/filters, try increasing the miles and age range. You can also try logging out and back in. iOS users: Go to the iOS settings, select ‘General’, then tap ‘Background App Refresh’. Make sure ‘Background App Refresh’ is enabled and that it is enabled for Friender.

Can I message someone I haven’t matched with?

No, only users who have indicated a mutual interest in one another are allowed to chat.

Can I unblock someone?

Only if both users update their profile.

I can’t log in.

Make sure you have the latest version of the Facebook app/Google Plus and latest version of Friender. Go to the phone settings, try logging out of Facebook/Google Plus and back in. Also, make sure the GPS (“location services”) on your device is enabled.

My pictures are not showing up on Friender / I can’t upload photos.

Make sure your pictures are in a public album or at least visible to your friends (not you only) on Facebook. You can also try moving your photos to a different album on Facebook.

Can I unmatch a user?

Yes. From the messenger dropdown, find the user you want to unmatch with, choose the user’s detailed profile, select the top right three dot menu, select “Unmatch.”

I lost all my matches!

Try signing out and back in, as long as you haven’t accidentally deleted your account you should be fine! If only one or two of your matches disappeared, they either blocked you or deleted their account.

The app keeps crashing.

Make sure you have the latest version of Friender and try reinstalling the app. As long as you don’t delete your account you won’t lose any of your matches and messages.

Friender is stuck on “Finding people near you.”

Make sure the GPS (or “location services”) on your device is enabled. iOS users: Go to the iOS settings, select ‘General’, then tap ‘Background App Refresh’. Make sure ‘Background App Refresh’ is enabled and that it is enabled for Friender.

I got a new match notification but I don’t see a new match.

Sounds like that person either blocked you or deleted their account. Friender on!

I don’t have any matches.

You need to allow time for people to like you back! You should try updating your photos and bio, it will go a long way. Keep Friendering!

How do I change my age?

Make sure you entered your actual age on Facebook and that your friends can see it (not you only), then log out and back in. There could be a delay, but your age should update automatically in the next few hours. You can also delete your account and start over but this will delete your matches, messages, etc.

How do I change my activity interests?

You can edit your profile anytime in the left side menu to adjust your interests.

How do I delete my account?

Go to app settings, delete account. This will delete your matches, messages, etc. Hope you’ll be back soon!

Note: Deleting the app does not delete your account.

How do I change my location?

Your current location is set automatically. Changing your location is a premium feature. To change your location, go to “Filters” and select “Location.”

How do I report someone?

If you’ve already matched with a user you’d like to report, find the user you want to report from your messenger dropdown, choose the user’s detailed profile, select the top right three dot menu (…), select “Report.”

You can also report users by viewing their profile card, selecting the three dot menu, and choosing “Report.”

Can I connect with someone based on a chosen specific activity?

Yes, go to the left menu tab, select “Filters” then select “Specific Interests” now only profiles that have the specific interests you selected will show up in your profile search.

Can I find people to date on Friender?

Friender is a platform designed to connect people and create friendships only.

What does “Waiting” mean in the left menu tab?

The number indicates how many users have already swiped right/liked your profile and are waiting to connect. If you are a premium user, selecting the “Waiting” tab allows you to see exactly who those people are.

Can I cancel my premium subscription?

You can manage your purchases and subscriptions via iTunes. Please visit https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202039 for more information on how to manage subscriptions from your iTunes account as well as your iPhone or iPad.